Flaming Light Chapter 20: Winner

Flaming Light Chapter 19: Tesla Vs Dayve

“This is a tale of humans, beasts, and beings from other worlds. A tale of a girl who wants to surpass the strongest; no this is their tale. A tale of hope. A tale of Flaming Light.”

As the dust produced from the explosion of Tesla’s Storm catastrophe settles, the view becomes clearer. The remaining part of the elevated fighting platform raised by Damian has been completely flattened back to its original state.

Tesla gradually descends to the ground, with the giant ethereal glaive just above her while the rest of the contestants, Dubnet, Serena and Teru are lying on the ground except for Dayve.

Tesla is surprised by Dayve’s absence and looks intently to locate him on the fighting platform but while still in mid-air, out of nowhere, a crack in space, like glass breaking, appears behind her. Dayve suddenly dashes out with his fist covered in a mix of normal flames and unique crimson flames, he unleashes his technique, the explosive powerful punch, Lion’s fury. Tesla’s giant ethereal glaive swiftly moves to defend her and while she is still turning to face Dayve, Dayve’s punch makes a tremendous impact with the glaive, breaking through it.

At this moment, she whispers, “I’ve lost.”

The collision releases a gigantic shock wave in a vertical manner, which cuts deep into the ground about twelve feet (12 ft) and creates a massive explosion that sends Tesla flying meters away, out of the fighting platform and slamming her into the ground.

BOOOMMMM!!!!!

The action was so fast that only a few were able to actually see what happened. All they could tell was that Tesla was down now and Dayve was standing.

“What just happened?!!” the commentators shout.

“It seems Dayve has taken the lead. Is this the final end of this year’s Battle Royale Tournament?!” they add.

Dayve stands on the battleground, panting heavily and looking quite worn out.

“That was a non-lethal version of Lion’s fury, so she should just be knocked unconscious. That being said, I had to use spatial translocation plus two lion fury and way of the light today, now my power has been completely zapped. I honestly did not think this tournament will be this much draining but it seems I was wrong. I still have much growing to do to become strong enough to take on that man,” he says to himself.

At the royals viewing room…

Luxxi, queen of Stormville, is quite surprised. Farads, king of Stormville, adjusts his glasses and says, “Well, that was quite… unexpected.”

Darius, king of Darkville, claps and says, “Interesting, he can also use dimensional techniques too.”

“Humph!!!” Draem, king of Psyville, scoffs. “Ruby, it seems your abilities also live in your child. What a waste of potential you truly were,” he says to himself.

Marcus smiles and states to Phoenix, “Spatial translocation, truly his mother’s son.”

“Indeed, Ruby Blaze will be smiling wherever she is,” Phoenix replies.

Back at the battleground…

Echelone, the referee for the event, begins to countdown as all other participants are down except for Dayve. Campione, one of the judges who was watching from high up in the sky begins descending to the ground. When she is halfway through, she pauses and smiles. “Interesting,” she says.

“Five, four, three, two–,” Echelone counts down but before he can finish saying one, Serena staggers to stand up and so does Dubnet.

“Wait…this is not… over yet,” Serena stutters. Teru is knocked out as he overexerted himself during his battle with Damian. Tesla is out of the fight as the countdown just finished and she is still lying on the ground outside the fighting platform. Unable to move, she struggles to open her eyes and looks at the clouds.

“Hard to believe I lost, after all my efforts in training even using my trump card, the Storm glaive. I’m still so weak. How can I avenge you guys? Father, mother, I have failed you both. Luxxi will be so disappointed,” she ponders as tears flow from her eyes down her face.

Seeing Serena and Dubnet, Dayve takes a deep breath and exhales.

Everyone is really intrigued by the turn of events and are watching with their full attention to see who will emerge as the winner. Dayve, Serena and Dubnet are all worn out and tired at the moment.

“You guys, are you not all tired already? Let’s give this a rest,” Dayve suggests.

Serena ponders, “This guy Dayve is just ridiculously strong. Having battled Gerrar, Erraz and now Tesla, three prodigies, all in a day, he is still standing. His amount of elemental power must be very high. Just battling Maka and using that heavenly spear already consumed the power regenerated by the light awakening. That was quite a heavy move, coupled with the fact that Tesla’s technique had a great effect in weakening the rest of us. Dragging this fight any longer, would result in nothing, maybe I should just give up.”

As she ponders this, she hears the words of Kiiara in her head saying, “Don’t give up.” Upon hearing this, Serena smiles and replies Dayve, “I must say Dayve, you’re like an overpowered character if this was one of those video games I and Kiiara usually play. Fighting against a fully powered you, I can’t say if I’ll win however, I… won’t give up.”

Dayve smiles back and responds, “I thought as much. I have to say too Serena, you’ve been awesome in this tournament. I never expected that you’d already have learned light awakening and also be able to summon a heavenly weapon.”

Dubnet yawns and utters, “This… is so… troublesome.”

Dayve and Serena turn to face him. He raises his hand and shouts, “I’m done Echelone.”

He starts to walk out of the stage.

“Are you giving up so easily lazy cuz (Cousin)?” Serena questions.

“Well… not quite but then again kinda. The reason for participating in this tournament was different for me. As things are now, I won’t be able to achieve that so there’s no point going further,” Dubnet responds as he walks away.

“And what is it that you wanted to achieve?” Dayve asks.

Dubnet pauses, smiles, looks at Dayve without turning fully, and says, “I wanted to fight either you, Damian or Tesla at full power but that’s not possible now. This would have been a good place to let loose. That being said, I’m not interested in winning this tournament so have fun.”

He continues his walk and waves as he does so.

“Why would you of all people want to let loose, you lazy twat?” Serena questions.

“Who knows… I wanted to test something out or maybe I was just bored,” Dubnet replies as he leaves the stage.

The commentators are surprised too and announce, “Wow!!! It seems Dubnet has quit. He probably is out of stamina and can no longer continue.”

At the royals viewing room…

Diana frowns and murmurs, “That… brat. I’m going to teach him a lesson.”

Quietly and calmly, she stands from her seat and excuses herself.

“I’ll be right back,” she says smiling.

Phoenix sighs, knowing what Diana is up to.

“Daniel, your son has that same attitude eh?” He says to himself.

Kiiara giggles and says, “Typical Dubnet. However, now what will you do, Serena?”

Back at the fighting arena,

Serena faces Dayve and takes a deep breath, putting a leg forward.

“In this world, aside from literal beasts, in terms of power and abilities, there are beasts and even among those beasts, there are beasts. Beasts among beasts and the sleeping beasts waiting for their powers to explode, the really strong ones. If Dubnet is a sleeping beast, then Dayve is a beast among beasts. I came here to win and that I will do, no matter who stands before me.”

Swiftly, she sprints towards Dayve and launches a high kick reaching for his temple (part of the head in the human body) but Dayve quickly cancels the attack with his own kick. His leg moves so fast that he instantly switches and sweeps Serena off the ground with the same leg.

Serena is quick to react and using her hands as support on the ground, throws herself high into the air. Doing a backflip, she lands safely on the ground but staggers a bit.

She dashes off again but not at Dayve rather to her right as she notices a medium length rod some distance away.

“The rod should be enough to try that technique. This will however be my final move,” she says to herself.

Dayve wonders where she is heading to. “Is she giving up also?” He thinks.

“No way, she’s probably planning something,” he concludes.

At this moment, all eyes are on the battleground, watching with vivid excitement.

On getting to the rod, Serena lifts it into the air with her right foot, blue flames and lightning gather around the foot. Serena makes a jump and with her foot launches the rod, enshrouding it with the blue flames and lightning.

“The technique I learned from Mother. Using the rod as a conductor for lightning and also increasing the explosive piercing power through the blue flames, let this be my winning move, I’ll call it, Lightning style: Serena’s Flaming Railgun!!!

With a powerful outburst and immense speed, she sends the rod with a trail of lightning flying against Dayve.

“That’s looks pretty dangerous. Didn’t think I’d have to use from my reserves or should I just give up?” Dayve evaluates as the rod swiftly approaches him.

“No. If I’m to even dream of defeating that man, then I must push myself harder, besides, I am… a winner!!!” he says and adds, “Blaze style: Crimson Lion’s Mane.”

Suddenly, just when the flaming rod cloaked with lightning is inches away from Dayve,  brilliant crimson colored flames emerge from his hair and envelope his entire body. As the rod slams into him, the crimson flames shield Dayve but the force of the assault keeps pushing him back.

“Damn it. I can’t seem to shake it off. At this rate I’ll be blasted out of the stage,” Dayve says to himself, still being driven back by Serena’s attack.

He grabs the rod with a tight grip and letting out a loud shout, firmly plants his left leg on the ground, cracking the ground, does a tremendous spin and sends the rod back to Serena.

At this point, Serena’s sight is blurry and she’s unable to move anymore.

“You’ve got to be kidding me. To think I gave it my best and still lost. Kiiara, your ‘not giving up’ mantra did not work after all,” she whispers and lets off a smile.

However, the rod passes her side and creates an enormous blast behind her. She is surprised but Dayve appears in front of her and lands a punch on her stomach, knocking her unconscious. First, she falls to her knees and after that, her full body falls to the ground, lying flat.

The crimson lion fades off and Dayve raises his fist, facing it to the sky. Everyone watched intensely to see if there are anymore surprises.

“Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, five, four, three, two… one!!!” Echelone completes his countdown.

And it is at this moment, that a mighty roar of cheers erupt throughout the entire Colosseum.

The commentators scream and announce, “There you have it!!! The winner of this tournament has emerged!!! And it is none other than Dayvelion Blaze!!!”

Dayve looks to the sky and a gentle smile brightens up his face.

“I did it mom,” he says to himself.

At the royals viewing room, Kiiara smiles and claps, still confused between celebrating and not celebrating since it was her twin sister that just lost. She then stands along with May and they both leave the viewing room with Kiiara telling her father, Phoenix that she is going to meet with some of her friends.

After she leaves, Marcus comments, “It was a great one filled with surprises.”

“True… haven’t seen one so amazing with so many unexpected events, in a while,” Lilian, Marcus’s wife and Diana’s elder sister, states.

“However, I’m interested in what’s actually driving Dayve. He really pushed himself seeing as he got most of the tough battles,” she adds.

“Hmm,” Phoenix utters, with one of his hands on his chin.

“Well, whatever it is, I hope it’s for good,” he states.

“So, in the end, the three remaining, were from Lightville and Lightville ended up winning this too. As I thought, Phoenix, your kingdom is becoming a threat,” Goryu, King of Galedom, speaks with his raspy deep voice.

“A threat? Oh, you feel threatened already, the mighty Goryu?” Phoenix replies.

“What?!” Goryu exclaims. “You!!! I’ll…”

“You’ll what?” Phoenix interrupts. “Do you want a rematch, let me refresh your memory?”

“Guys!!! There will be no fighting in this academy,” Echo Forge, King of the Central Plains, states.

“Now, let the event end and we can all go our separate ways,” he adds.

Isabelle giggles and grins. “It doesn’t matter, chaos is already on its way anyway,” she says to herself.

Meanwhile, Dubnet, with his hands tucked in his trouser’s pockets, is on his way to the medical center where he can get his injuries sorted out and healed. On his way, he is stopped by Diana.

He sighs and says, “I’m sorry Diana.”

Diana sighs and replies, “Why do you have to behave like your mother also?”

Dubnet’s mood switches to a sad one as he takes hold of a chain locket he is wearing on his neck. He opens the locket and looks at the photo of two faces, each on separate sides of the locket.

“How can I act like people I never got to really know?” he responds.

Diana walks closer and asks, “Why did you quit?”

Dubnet, back in his nonchalant mood, answers, “Huh? I got tired. There was no point in continuing. I came to test out my strength so that I can start my adventure and find whoever it is that killed my parents, since you and Phoenix don’t want to tell me.”

“It’s not that we don’t want to tell you, it’s that you’re not ready to hear it because then you’d engage in a chase which at the moment isn’t needed. I mean do you think it’s easy for Phoenix? Your dad was his brother you know,” Diana responds.

“Look, it’s not that I don’t understand. I get it but you have to grow first and not be consumed by vengeance. It’s destructive. I too, have lost my mother, two sisters, an elder and a younger, and also friends, your parents inclusive,” she adds.

A drop of tear flows down from Dubnet’s right eye, he rubs it off, continues walking and says, “I know. I’m truly sorry for all those utterances. Don’t get me wrong, you and Phoenix have been awesome. I love you guys and I’m really grateful.”

“I know,” Diana says and smiles. Suddenly, she smacks Dubnet on the head.

“Where do you think you’re going punk?! After talking like that? Seems I’ve been quite lenient on you as a teacher. How dare you quit a fight?! I was rooting for you and Serena of course!!!” She yells.

“Ouch!!” Dubnet exclaims, holding his head. “I said I was sorry,” he says.

“Yeah I heard I heard,” she replies with a soft tone and smiles warmly.

As Dubnet takes another step, she smacks him again on the head and yells, “The next time you quit like that, I’ll shock the living daylight out of you, ya understand?!”

“Yeah yeah,” Dubnet replies in his usual lazy tone, scratching his head. “What’s her deal? One minute, she’s smiling, the next, she’s yelling. Quite the eccentric one. Well, it’s all for love as she says,” he says to himself.

Diana smiles again and gently pats Dubnet’s head. “It’s alright, you’re going to be great, I know it. Now, now, smile, Diana is here,” she says and hugs him.

“Thank you, for being like a mother to me, Diana,” Dubnet whispers.

By this time, Phoenix is behind them, smiling with his arms folded and leaning against the wall.

Elsewhere, at the southern borders of the Central Plains, an intriguing battle rages on as Axion faces off against General Furyoku.

The Battle Royale Tournament has come to an end.

What is this impending chaos that Isabelle mentioned?

To be continued…

Flaming Light Chapter 19: Tesla Vs Dayve

Isabelle Flo Bio

One response to “Flaming Light Chapter 20: Winner”

  1. Flaming Light Chapter 21: Prelude to Chaos: 1 – Claudience Web Series Avatar
    Flaming Light Chapter 21: Prelude to Chaos: 1 – Claudience Web Series

    […] Flaming Light Chapter 20: Winner […]

    Like

Leave a comment